Logo epitopos page innovation
Rgb sifeca

Innovation

LIBS technology

The Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy (LIBS) focus a laser beam on a surface sample. The material is vaporized, the chemical elements constituting the material are "excited" and when they return to the steady state, they emit photons of specific wavelength. This light is collected by a fiber and a spectrometer permit to obtain a spectrum with the intensity as a function of the wavelengths. That allow to characterize the material. The impact on the material is almost invisible (200 μm) and  any chemical elements present in the periodic table can be detected, including low atomic weight elements such as hydrogen, boron or lithium.

 

Heritage

Epitopos has created in partnership with the ILM (Institute Laser Matter, Vincent Motto-Ros) and CRITT Materials Alsace (Frédéric Pelascini) a LIBS analytical system dedicated to the field of heritage. The goal was to create a powerful analytical tool to recognize, on site, the nature of the pigments present on a pictorial work.

 

Mining industry

Epitopos, in collaboration with Géocoop, has developed a methodology for studying rock cubes and, in collaboration with CRITT Matériaux Alsace, carrying out high resolution LIBS elementary chemical mappings to obtain chemical maps of interest for metallogenists.

Schema libs 2    copie

Epitopos develops innovative solutions for technological and methodological perspectives in order to answer a problem. This approach is made for the specific requirement of Epitopos but is also applied to companies and external issues.

 dsc2492
Expertise contact light gray element Clickable
Img 2979

Download an example of LIBS application:

Logo epitopos page innovation
Rgb sifeca

Innovation

Technologie LIBS

La technologie LIBS (Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy ou plasma induit par impulsion laser) focalise un laser à la surface d'un échantillon. La matière est alors vaporisée, les élements chimiques constituant la matière sont "excités", et lors de leur retour à l'état d'équilibre, ces derniers émettent des photons de longueur d'onde spécifique. La lumière émise est ensuite observée à l'aide d'un spectromètre permettant de d'obtenir un spectre d'intensité en fonction des longueurs d'onde. L'impact sur le matériau est quasi invisible à l'oeil nu (200 μm) et permet de vérifier la présence de tous les éléments chimiques du tableau périodique, y compris les éléments les plus légers comme l'hydrogène, le bore ou le lithium. 

 

Patrimoine 

Epitopos a créé en partenariat avec l'ILM (Institut Laser Matière, Vincent Motto-Ros) et le CRITT Matériaux Alsace (Frédéric Pelascini) un système analytique LIBS dédié au domaine du patrimoine. L'objectif était de créer un outil analytique performant afin de reconnaître, sur site, la nature des pigments présent sur une oeuvre picturale.

 

 Industrie Minière

Epitopos, en collaboration avec Géocoop, a développé une méthodologie permettant d'étudier des cubes de roche et de réaliser, en collaboration avec le CRITT Matériaux Alsace, des cartographies chimiques élémentaires LIBS haute résolution permettant d'obtenir des cartes chimiques d'intérêts pour les metallogénistes.

Schema libs 2    copie

Epitopos développe des solutions innovantes tant du point de vue technologique que du point de vue méthodologique afin de répondre à une problématique. Cette démarche est faite pour les besoins propres à Epitopos, mais peut également s'appliquer à des entreprises et des problématiques externes. 

 dsc2492
Expertise contact light gray element Clickable
Img 2979

 Télécharger un exemple d'application: